ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT **COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY**



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

SB 894 - Office of Social Equity - Community Reinvestment and Repair Fund -**Advisory Board and Modifications OPPOSE**

February 25, 2025

The Honorable Pamela Beidle, Chairman **Finance Committee** 3 East Miller Senate Office Building Annapolis, Maryland 21401

RE: Senate Bill 894 - Office of Social Equity - Community Reinvestment and **Repair Fund – Advisory Board and Modifications**

Dear Chairman Beidle:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County **OPPOSE Senate Bill 894 - Office of Social** Equity - Community Reinvestment and Repair Fund – Advisory Board and Modifications which is being heard in the Finance Committee.

We urge an unfavorable report on Senate Bill 894. We do not support the introduction of this legislation and do not believe it would benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. Thank you for your consideration as well as your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

Jame & Jup Vames Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/tr T:/Consent/2025/040

> Cc: Senator Jack Bailey Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Matthew Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Eric Colvin **Commissioner Michael Hewitt** Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator Buffy Giddens, County Attorney John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 * CHESAPEAKE BUILDING * 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 *1350 • FAX 301.475.4935 • www.stmaryscountymd.gov • CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV